Welcome!

Welcome to the my personal website!  I am a microbial ecologist working on the microbiology of extreme environments.

I am fundamentally interested in the co-evolution of the biosphere and the geosphere and how life influences planetary-scale processes. My current research focuses on two major themes, integrally linked to each other: 1) the microbial diversity and ecosystem functioning of extreme environments and their role in global biogeochemistry; and 2) reconstructing the emergence and evolution of metabolism.

I currently hold an appointment as a joint EON Research Fellow at the Earth-Life Science Institute (Tokyo) and Rutgers University (USA), I am a Visiting Scholar at the Institute of Advanced Studies in Princeton (USA), and an Adjunct Researcher at the National Research Council of Italy.

